To homelab or not to homelab….? That is a question.. (Part 2) – Diagrams

In my previous post in this series I went over the gradual growth of my lab from just being on my desk to having its very own 42u network rack. Since then, my lab has grown and changed. Previously I was using the virtual switch right on my esxi hosts (which were 5.1), along with having separate local storage and managing them individually.

Today my virtual environment is managed by vCenter, has centralized storage, runs ESXi 5.5, and utilizes Cisco Nexus 1000v for distributed switching. I plan to do another post eventually on my centralized storage setup running FreeNAS so I won’t be talking directly about it too much. Instead, through building out my virtualized environment I realized that I don’t actually have any diagrams for my home network / lab.

The first diagram I started to work on is for my “server” environment. This includes my storage servers as well as my ESXi hosts and the guests running on the guests. It took a bit of time to figure out a good way to represent how the VMS are connected to the network but I think I found a good way of doing it.

Servers

Going through the diagram:

  • ESXi-1 (C1100)
    • 72 GB ECCRAM
    • iSCSI LUN
    • Dual connected IP and iSCSI connectivity
    • 25 Configured VMs
      • 11 Active
  • ESXi-2 (C1100)
    • 72 GB ECC RAM
    • iSCSI LUN
    • Dual connected IP and iSCSI connectivity
    • 29 Configured VMs
      • 11 Active
  • unRAID (WhiteBox)
    • 8GB RAM
    • Single DataStore (1 Disk Parity) [ 22TB]
    • Dual connected IP connectivity
  • FreeNAS (C2100)
    • 24GB ECC RAM
    • Single DataStore (1 Disk Parity) [ 22TB]
    • Dual connected IP connectivity
    • Quad connected iSCSI connectivity
    • Dual PSU
  • Access Switch
    • WS-C2960S-48LPS-L
  • Other
    • APC BR1500G (1500VA/865W)
    • APC BR24BPG (additional four 9Ah batteries for UPS)

 

Next steps will be to add the rest of the equipment, and my CCIE Lab. Can’t forget about that 🙂

Leave a Reply

